Uncategorized

The contradictory part of freeing from the Apartheid era into a new Democratic SA 

With this being my debut post, I’m hoping to get as much feedback as possible and get shed some light on things I can’t make clear sense of. 

Now shifting back to the topic at hand, the contradictory part of freeing from European colonial powers into a new Democratic South Africa. 

Before gaining independence , We were all one and so were our cries, we all wanted to be free. Then there had to be Freedom, which seems to have swept away all the principles South Africans lived by and I ask myself if all the efforts of our freedom fighters were worth it. 

Ever since the Apartheid era was put to stop, it’s been one havoc after the other. From Xenophobia to Homophobia and I wonder if Apartheid was the only factor that bound us to the spirit of Ubuntu and gave us humanity to celebrate, because back then  we breathed one, lived one and sticked together, unlike today. 

Maybe if Apartheid didn’t end and we weren’t living in a Democratic state, our country would’ve been just as holy as Heaven if not holier. 

It’s like we have forgotten what being treated fairly and loving one another( What our elders fought for) is. 

Or maybe it is because I have never lived in times of racial discrimination and segregation, that I feel this way. Even so, my cramped understanding of what South Africa has turned into is adequate for me to know when something’s not right. 

I don’t get why there’s so much preaching about our country rendering Ubuntu yet I hardly notice any. I tried looking around to see if I’d notice anything good about us and unsurprisingly , I found none. 

We bear hate against our fellow gays and lesbians. We even go to an extent of killing poor refugees who moved to our country, thinking that maybe it’s the greener side of the grass. Now Imagine what we could do to our own flesh and blood, if we managed to ill treat our fellow LGBTI community and refugees. 

It is said that one can do anything they put their minds to and I know exactly why we can’t simply love and tolerate each other like we used to. It is because we don’t want to. 

With all that’s going on in our country right now, I wish I had lived in a different time -zone, different country or a very far away planet . Maybe I wouldn’t have to live with this burdening confusion. 

I’m just 17 years old but ashamed to call myself a South African. 

Why can’t we flock together and be birds of the same feathers, despite our distinguished differences, because it is only through tolerance and working together towards change, that South Africa can be a home to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

